ISO Standards and Certifications

ISO Standards and Certifications

Who are the ISO?

The International Organisation for Standardisation are an independent, international organisation created by the United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (UNIDO). With a membership of 162 national standards bodies, it brings together specialists to share knowledge and provide solutions to global challenges.

What is an ISO standard

An ISO standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose.

What are the benefits of ISO International Standards?

ISO standards ensure that products and services are safe, reliable and of good quality. They also help businesses improve their efficiency by saving money, minimising waste and increasing productivity.

ISO 50001

The ISO 50001 certification provides the framework for implementing an Energy Management System (EMS), to help your business become more energy efficient and achieve its sustainability goals. An EMS is a series of technical and management strategies that will significantly improve and manage your organisation’s energy usage – saving you time and money in the long run.

ISO 50001 provides a framework of requirements for organisations to:

  • Develop a policy for more efficient use of energy
  • Fix targets and objectives to meet the policy
  • Use data to better understand and make decisions about energy use
  • Measure the results
  • Review how well the policy works
  • Continually improve energy management

The ISO 50001 certification is fully compliant with ESOS – therefore, if you are subject to meet ESOS criteria, you do not have to carry out an ESOS assessment. You just need to notify the Environment Agency that you are ISO 50001 certified.